Home / Country Profile

Country Profile

Republic of Somaliland

Somaliland is situated on the eastern horn of Africa and lies between the 08°00' - 11°30' parallel north of the equator and between 42°30' - 49°00' meridian east of the Greenwich. It shares borders with Republic of Djibouti to the west, Federal Republic of Ethiopia to the south and Somalia to the east. Somaliland has a coastal line to the north of the country which extends 460 miles along the Red Sea. The territory's geography is distinguished by three main topographical features locally known as the Guban, Oogo and Hawd.

Population - Total : 3,500,000

Independence Declared - Recognition From Somalia - 1991

Currency : Somaliland shilling
Calling Code : 252 2
Presidents of Somaliland
Abdurahman Ali Tur :- 28 May 1991 - 16 May 1993
Haji Ibrahim Egal : - 16 May 1993 - 3 May 2002
Dahir Riyale Kahin : 3 May 2002 - July 2010

Current President

Ahmed Mohamed Mohamud Siilanyo: Elected as the 4th Somaliland president on July 2010

Somaliland has political contacts with its neighbours Ethiopia and Djibouti, as well as with South Africa,[54] Sweden,[56] and the United Kingdom.On 17 January 2007, the European Union (EU) sent a delegation for foreign affairs to discuss future cooperation. The African Union (AU) has also sent a foreign minister to discuss the future of international acknowledgment, and on 29 and 30 January 2007, the ministers stated that they would discuss acknowledgement with the organisation's member states.[59]

In early 2006, the National Assembly of Wales extended an official invitation to the Somaliland government to attend the royal opening of the Senedd in Cardiff. The move was seen as an act of recognition by the Welsh Assembly of the breakaway government's legitimacy. The Foreign and Commonwealth Office made no comment on the invitation. Wales is home to a significant Somali expatriate community from Somaliland.

In 2007, a delegation led by President Kahin was present at the Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting in Kampala, Uganda. Although Somaliland has applied to join the Commonwealth under observer status, its application is still pending.

To learn more about Somaliland please refer to this link


More about Somaliland

and largest city
9°33′N 44°03′E
Official languages
Demonym Somali;[3]
Government Presidential constitutional republic
 • President Ahmed Mohamed Mohamoud
 • Vice-President Abdirahman Saylici
 • Speaker of the House Abdirahman Mohamed Abdullahi
Legislature Parliament
 • Upper house House of Elders
 • Lower house House of Representatives
Independence from Somalia
 • Proclaimed May 18, 1991
 • Recognition Unrecognized[5][6]
 • Total 137,600 km2
53,100[7] sq mi
 • 2013 estimate 4,500,000[8]
 • Density 25/km2
66/sq mi
GDP (PPP) 2015 estimate
 • Total $320 million[9]
 • Per capita $577 [9]
Currency Somaliland shillinga (SLSH)
Time zone EAT (UTC+3)
 • Summer (DST) not observed (UTC+3)
Date format d/m/yy (AD)
Drives on the right
Calling code +252 (Somalia)